About Us

The Spokane Food Policy Council (SFPC)

The intention of the Spokane Food Policy Council is to develop a just and integrated policy and action recommendations that promote health, sustain and strengthen the local and regional food system, and engage and partner with agriculture, business, communities and governments in the region.

What is a Food Policy Council?

A Food Policy Council (FPC) coordinates food system players in the food system within a given geographic/jurisdictional boundary. The food system is made up of growers, processors, distributors, retailers, consumers, and composters. Food Policy Councils range from municipal, county, regional, or state levels of governance. Put another way, “The central aim of most Food Policy Councils is to identify and propose innovative solutions to improve local or state food systems, spurring local economic development and making food systems more environmentally sustainable and socially just,” says Mark Winne, a community food activist who has been referred to as the ‘father of food policy work.’

The Spokane Food Policy Council first met in September 2013 and through monthly meetings have engaged in council development, strategic planning, research, and outreach

Our Mission: To advance policies and initiatives that foster a resilient food system in the Spokane area; one that is healthy and equitable for its citizens, economy and environment.

Our Vision: A thriving community that values and cultivates a viable, inclusive, and prosperous food system.

Outcomes:

  1. Viable-Ensure Stewardship of natural resources while supporting a healthy food system
  2. Inclusive- Ensure all people are able to participate in the food system in a healthy, equitable and culturally relevant manner
  3. Prosperous – Ensure strong economic opportunities throughout the  food system

 

Accomplishments/ “Wins”

  • Revised Animal LawAdjusted the amount of animals proportional to one’s lot size
  • Market Garden  Pilot ProjectAllows residents to sell produce from their lots grown on site
  • Neonicotinoid BanBans a systemic pesticide that is known to hurt bees way finding and fertility rates— the city of Seattle passed after us… then the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service!
  • Spokane Regional Food System Inventory This document is a collection of information from stakeholders in each part of the Spokane’s food system. Growers, processors, distributors, retailers, eaters, and  professional compost/recycling folks. The Spokane regional food system inventory explains the perceived current reality of our local food system. The inventory was developed from a conglomeration of other cities inventories to understand about their food systems tailored to Spokane’s context. Our next steps generally, are to close the gap between what we have ( The inventory of our current reality) and what we want (our mission and vision).
  • Integrated food language into the city of Spokane’s comprehensive plan

 

Our Team (Full Members):

  • Kitty Klitzke

SFPC Officer: President 

Futurewisekitty@futurewise.org 

  • Linda Moulder

SFPC Officer: Treasurer

Food Leader/Citizen
lindamoulderis@gmail.com

  • Jennifer Hall

spokanefoodpolicy@gmail.com

  • Pat Munts

Small Agriculture coordinator
WSU Extension
pat@inlandnwgardening.com

  • Kyle Unland

Spokane Regional Health District: Director of Health Promotion

kunland@srhd.org

  • Brian Estes

brian@lincfoods.com

LINC Foods

  • Elizabeth L. Abbey

SFPC Officer: Secretary

PhD, RDN
eabbey@whitworth.edu

  • Torie Foote

 SFPC Officer: Vice President

torie.foote@gmail.com     

  • Melodi Wynne

Spokane Tribe

melodiuh@gmail.com

  • Riley Van Bebber

Mortgage Banking

rileyb3@gmail.com

  • Julie Bongard

Spokane Regional Health District: Healthy Eating Coordinator/Health Promotion

jbongard0531@gmail.com

  • Nils Johnson

WSU Stevens County Extension

nils.johnson@wsu.edu

  • Nathan Calene

Urban and Regional Planning

Spokane Food Policy Council Coordinator

ncalene@spokanecity.org

  • Kathleen Hedgcock

Second Harvest Director of Strategic Gifts

kathy.hedgcock@2-harvest.org

  • Kim Kreber

SNAP Washington Conservation Education Coordinator

Kreber@SNAPWA.org

  • Kendra Dean

Catholic Charities Food for All Collective Impact Project Manager

kdean@ccspokane.org

 

 

Advisory Committee:

  • Chris Bieker

S.F.P.C. Operations Manual

Strategic Plan

Board Membership and Responsibilities

Board Operations

  • Executive Committee Minutes
  • Finance Committee Minutes
  • Membership Committee Minutes
  • Webpage Committee Minutes

Finance

Personnel

Legal Documents

  • Articles of Incorporation
  • 501© status
  • Bylaws